Checked October 24, 2026
How to find free or low-cost spay and neuter
Where low-cost spay and neuter actually shows up, what to ask before you book, and why a published price still has to be confirmed.
Start with the kind of clinic, not a promise of the lowest price
Spay and neuter prices are set by each clinic. A directory can show a number only when some public page stated it, and only with the date of that page. It cannot promise that the number is still the one you will be charged.
The places that most often publish a lower fee are high-volume spay/neuter clinics, humane society and SPCA clinics, a few municipal programs, mobile clinics, and occasional community programs at veterinary schools. Private hospitals sometimes offer surgery too. Being on a referral list does not, by itself, mean the fee is low.
Income rules are not the same everywhere
Some clinics publish a price and do not describe an income test. Emancipet's spay/neuter page, checked October 24, 2026, listed $89 for a cat and $125 for a dog at its clinics, and said the Austin Free Days mobile clinic was free for Travis County residents. That residency rule is not an income test.
Others are explicit. San Diego Humane Society's community clinic page said households needed income under $100,000 a year and/or proof of public assistance. ASPCA community clinic pages in Brooklyn, the Bronx, and Queens said clients needed proof of public assistance and a home ZIP code on a printed list. If a PawFare listing does not state a rule, the source we checked did not state one. Ask.
Questions worth asking before the drop-off
Ask what the fee includes: pain medication, an e-collar, vaccines, a microchip, and an extra charge for an in-heat animal, pregnancy, or an undescended testicle. Ask the weight limit, the fasting instructions, whether community cats must arrive in a trap, and whether a deposit is kept if you cancel.
Ask whether the clinic is taking appointments this week. Several pages we checked were already full, closed for construction, or temporarily closed. The Western University Spay & Neuter Center page said the Los Angeles clinic was closed and not accepting appointments.
This page is not veterinary advice and not a recommendation of a procedure. The decision to spay or neuter, and whether your animal is healthy enough for anesthesia, belongs with a veterinarian who has examined the animal.
Sources
Questions
Is there one national program that pays for spay and neuter?
No single national voucher pays for every pet. ASPCA's public low-cost page points people to local programs, including SpayUSA, and to ASPCA services in specific cities. Availability is local.
Why do two PawFare listings show different prices for the same surgery?
They were copied from different public pages, sometimes years apart. Each clinic page shows the source and the date. Use the date, then call the clinic.